Abortion laws vary from state to state. Some abortion laws determine consent requirements, age requirements or what type of clinic can perform an abortion and up to how many weeks the abortion procedure can be performed. Current abortion laws in Texas require 24-hour consent, which means a woman must receive state mandated information from the doctor and have an ultrasound at our clinic at least 24 hours before she can legally have an abortion. Texas abortion laws also requires any abortion after 16 weeks be performed in a hospital or licensed ambulatory surgery center.
Another Texas abortion law is the requirement of parental consent before a woman under the age of 18 can legally obtain an abortion. Abortion laws can make it difficult for many women to obtain an abortion. Anti-abortion groups try to pass abortion laws that make it difficult to get an abortion. They have found it easier to pass restrictive abortion laws then to try to make abortion illegal.
Texas Abortion Laws
As of January 2004, the State of Texas House Bill 15 (HB15) requires specific information be offered to each women 24 hours before having an abortion. This information was written by state officials and it explains the abortion procedure and risks, the risks of childbirth, fetal development, alternatives to abortion and a provides a resource directory of agencies. The state law does not require that you view the materials— you have the right to refuse the information. It requires that we inform you of the materials and how you may obtain them. If you choose to view the materials you may do so by CLICKING HERE: Texas Dept. of Health - A Woman's Right to Know Act - HB15.
Two steps to complete 24 hours before your abortion:
- You must obtain information from the doctor AND receive an ultrasound at our clinic. Be sure to call the clinic for instructions.
- You must receive written information regarding state licensing (see below)
On the date of your appointment you will sign a certification stating you have received the information required by law, over the phone and in writing, 24 hours before your abortion is performed.
This facility is licensed by the Texas Department of State Health Services, License #007812. Compliments and complaints about these facilities may be made to:
Director, Health Facility Compliance Division
Texas Department of State Health Services
1100 West 49th Street
Austin, TX 78756
Toll-Free Telephone Number: 1-888-973-0022
The Texas Department of State Health Services investigates all complaints against abortion facilities. Complaints must be in writing and signed by the complainant. All information pertaining to complaints will be kept strictly confidential. You have the right to access certain information concerning this abortion facility by using the toll-free telephone number listed above. If you make a call to the above number, your identity will remain anonymous.
The toll-free telephone line can provide you with the following information:
- Whether this facility is licensed by the Texas Department of State Health Services
- The date of the last inspection of this facility by the TDSHS and any violations of law or rules discovered during that inspection that may pose a health risk to you
- Any relevant fine, penalty, or judgment rendered against this facility or a doctor who provides services at this facility.
You have the right to contact the TDSHS at the toll-free number in the event this facility does not provide you with the Woman's Right to Know booklet or resource directory, should you choose to view it.
Information for Minors
As of January 2006 Texas requires parental consent before a woman under 18 years of age can obtain an abortion. A parent or legal guardian, with government ID, must accompany the minor patient to the office and sign a parental consent form prior to an abortion. Follow this link for information on Judicial Bypass.